Skip to content

The President's Prize

The President's Prize: the CIBSE Undergraduate Award (sponsored by Hays Building Services)


The Award is open to all CIBSE Student members in their final year of BSc, BEng and MEng study. A selection panel, appointed by the CIBSE Board, will decide which project is worthy of winning by looking for evidence of excellent understanding and knowledge in building services engineering, science and design, as well as originality and high quality visual information. The Award is the subject of an open competition and has an annual closing date.

CIBSE is especially keen to encourage applicants' whose final year projects share CIBSE's concern for the environment.

To enter is easy: All you need to do is send a 2,000 word synopsis of your final year project together with the completed Application Form. CIBSE judges will be looking for clear, easy to read submissions with a strong idea, understanding of engineering science and design, originality, evidence of engineering techniques, good visual quality, clear language and high quality drawings.

If you wish to apply, please download the application form or contact Grace Potthurst for more information 0208 772 3611

Winner and Runners Up 2016

Ann Johny from Heriot Watt University, Dubai is the winner of the 2016 CIBSE Undergraduate Award. Ann studied for a BEng (Hons) in Architecture Engineering and won with her final year project entitled "Optimising Double Skin Facades for High Rise Office Buildings in United Arab Emirates". She will be presented with a £500 cheque and trophy at the President's Awards Dinner in October 2016.

A trophy will also be awarded to Dr Kirk Shanks, representing Heriot Watt University, Dubai, as acknowledgement of its achievement.

Anastasija Taranenko from Heriot Watt University, UK and Roxana Maria Amarandei from Gheorghe Asachi Technical University were both runners up and received a prize of £100 each.