Skip to content

CIBSE is currently upgrading its IT systems to improve core customer functions and increase efficiency and effectiveness. This will mean some website services will be offline until Monday 25 July. Help

Graduate of the Year Award 2016

Congratulations to Antoni J. Sapina Grau, winner of the 2016 Graduate of the Year Award.

Antoni joined WSP/Parsons Brinkerhoff as a graduate engineer having obtained an MSc in Building Services Engineering with Sustainable Energy at Brunel London University. Previously, he completed a BEng in Architectural Engineering at the Polytechnic University of Valencia.

Antoni gained construction and building services experience through working in Spain, Mexico and the UK prior to joining WSP/PB. As a graduate, he has qualified as a BREEAM Associate, Low Carbon Consultant and LCIBSE. He was also part of the team that won this year’s Teambuild Construction Competition UK. Antoni designs the services for major commercial developments and critical banking facilities. He organises the CPD training for of the company’s building services engineering department in the southeast region and is part of the Mechanical Forum Team.

Runners up:

Katie Ewing - University of Bath and Atkins

Scott Mason - University of Northampton/Lochinvar

Graduate of the Year 2016 Finalists

  • Samantha Carlsson – Cardiff University and Hoare Lea
  • Richard Garthwaite – Royal School of Military Engineeringl
  • Monica Madrigal – Universidad Politechnica Madrid/Foster & Partners
  • Farai Mwashita – Loughborough/Hilson Moran
  • Samima Saqib – Heriot Watt (Dubai).

All of the finalists gave a short presentation to the judging panel at the IMechE’s headquarters in London on Thursday, October 13 on the topic:

'Computers and digital technologies are transforming the way engineers work. What impact do you think this is having on innovation; professionalism; and traditional engineering skills?'

Following the presentations the winner will be selected and announced at the Young Engineers Awards event in front of a live audience.

About the award

The CIBSE ASHRAE Graduate of the Year Award is one of the industry’s most sought after accolades. The first prize includes a trip to the ASHRAE Winter Conference in Las Vegas, to which the award winner is invited as a guest of honour and is able to take part in the meeting as well as enjoy the host city.

Generous cash bursaries are also presented to two runners up by the Rumford Club and all other finalists will receive £100 each courtesty of the Manly Trust.

Past winners include:
2015: Ryan Rodrigues - London South Bank University and Hurleypalmerflatt
2014: Emilia Targonska - Loughbrough University and Hoare Lea
2013: William Holley - University of Nottingham and Buro Happold
2012: Lee Tabis - Leeds College and NG Bailey
2011: Angela Malynn - London South Bank University and Arup
2010: Michael Gardner - Coventry University and Pick Everard
2009: Emma Marshall - Northumbria University and RPS Gregory
2008: Morwenna Wilson - Bristol University and Arup
2007: Richard Unwin - London South Bank University and Overbury
2006: Michael Norton - London South Bank University
2005: Nigel Banks - Sheffield and Faber Maunsell
2004: Kai Lim - Imperial College and Faber Maunsell
2003: Dominic Shortland - London South Bank University
2002: Richard Kemp - University of Nottingham and Hoare Lea
2001: Ciara Ahern - Dublin Institute of Technology
1999: Ruth Kelly - Dublin Institute of Technology and AMEC
1998: Sophia Kauntz – Arup
1997: Matthew Pilgrim - Arup
1996: Kevin Mitchell - South Bank University and AMEC Design

For more information or advice about the Graduate of the Year award, email or contact Nadia Gatter, tel: +44(0) 208 3680.