Skip to content

CIBSE Technology Committee

Reports to: CIBSE Board

Purpose of Committee and frequency of meetings:

The Technology Committee is a Standing Committee of the Institution. It has the overall responsibility for providing understanding, clarification and validation of the fundamental technical basis of building services engineering and for overseeing the policy work of the Institution. The Committee meets three times a year, usually in February, June and October.

Terms of Reference:

  • To oversee engineering policy and make recommendations to the Board on matters within its remit.
  • To generate Institution Position Statements for Board approval.
  • To oversee the preparation of timely responses to consultation documents (including documents produced by other professional bodies, standards organisations and government).
  • Subject to the provisions of Rule B21 in the Rules for the Board, to appoint and brief representatives where appropriate to contribute to and/or report on technical policy and publication activities of other organisations.
  • To make recommendations to the Board regarding the Carter and Napier Shaw Bronze Medals for published and/or presented papers.
  • To seek contributions to the work of the committee from all relevant international and interdisciplinary sources within the institution.


The Institution seeks participation from all CIBSE interest areas. Members of Technology Committee should be drawn from a range of age, gender, background, experience and expertise, and should include participation from a range of sectors and interest groups in the UK and overseas e.g. Industry, Manufacturing, Project Management, Finance, Research, Academia.

The Technology Committee shall comprise at least 9 and no more than 15 members, including the Chair. The Committee may co-opt no more than three additional members to assist in specific matters. Co-opted members shall serve for so long as the particular matter is on the agenda of the committee and they shall not have a vote. 

Members of the Technology Committee are initially appointed for a three year period. At the end of this period they can be re-appointed for a further three year term. It is desirable that new members be added regularly to the Committee to bring in new ideas and expertise, however, it is equally desirable to retain expertise.

Members attributes

To be considered for appointment to the Technology Committee applicants should normally be in CIBSE membership and must be able to commit their time to participate in meetings, either in person or remotely. Members will also be asked to read circulated papers to allow informed decision making and to comment on draft documents as and when required. 

Attributes of Members of the Technology Committee:

  • Knowledge of legislation affecting the building services sector and experience of using a range of national and international standards;
  • Experience of contributing to legislative and policy-making processes;
  • Awareness of future trends and policy developments likely to affect the sector and their impact on CIBSE members in their various roles, and also some awareness of current research activity.

For more information about the Technology Committee please refer to the Technology Committee Manual.

Committee Membership


Other Members:

Carolyn Caceres
Energy & Sustainability Engineer, Troup Bywaters + Anders

Colin Ashford

David Hughes

Douglas Baldock
MEP Lead, Laing O’Rourke

Ian Knight
Professor, Welsh School of Architecture, Cardiff University

John Field

Katie Clemence
Engineer, Partner, Max Fordham

Luke Yeates-Mayo
Engineer, Hoare Lea

Mark Dunne
Director, Atkins

Nick Cullen
Partner, Hoare Lea

Satish Sharma
Director and Owner, Kent Energy Savings

Stephen Chapman
Electrical Engineer, Atkins

Susan Hone-Brookes
Chief Engineer for Construction, Manufacturing Technology Centre

Director Responsible: Hywel Davies

Department: Technical