Skip to content

SLL announces the Young Lighter of the Year 2013 shortlist

The Society of Light and Lighting (SLL) is pleased to announce the Young Lighter of the Year 2013 shortlist. These entrants will now go on to write a 3000 word paper in the hopes of being chosen to present at the LuxLive exhibition and have the chance to win the prestigious award of Young Lighter of the Year at the Lux Awards in London on 21st November 2013.

The Awards, now in their 19th year, provide a unique platform for young lighters and are open to those under 30. The Awards give the young lighters an opportunity to write a paper on a lighting subject, hone their presentation skills in front of an invited panel of judges, and raise their profile within the industry.

The lighters in the shortlist were chosen from the quality and talent shown in their papers on any lighting subject of their choice and their video presentations. Last year's winner, Sabine De Schutter, was awarded her prize in front of the Lux Awards Dinner attendees at the Natural History Museum for her presentation, ‘Shadow Defining Space.'

The shortlist announced is:

  • Philip Avery, Light Bureau
  • Cecilia Gonzalez, Bartlett School of Graduate Studies
  • David Kretzer, LEOX Design Partnership
  • Ben Leslie, Christy Lighting Ltd
  • Roslyn Leslie
  • Rachael Nicholls, Hoare Lea
  • Cehao Yu, Lighting Design House / Bartlett School of Graduate Studies

All finalists receive a cash prize along with a year's membership to SLL.

The four videos chosen from the current shortlist will be available to view in October.

For more information on LuxLive and the Lux Awards visit