Skip to content

Largest number shortlisted for CIBSE ASHRAE Graduate of the Year in a decade

It was announced today that ten promising young engineers have been shortlisted for this year's CIBSE ASHRAE Graduate of the Year award. This is the largest group of finalists for this prestigious industry prize in over a decade. The winner will be invited to attend the ASHRAE Winter Conference in New York.

The Award, which is supported by three leading international engineering institutions, is sponsored by Daikin, Lochinvar and Ruskin Air Management.  It will be presented alongside the CIBSE Employer of the Year Award during this year's CIBSE Young Engineers' Awards in October.

Those on the shortlist are: 

  • Carla Bartholomew, University of West of England and AECOM;
  • Bonnie Brooks, London South Bank University and URS;
  • Sandra Camacho, Loughborough University and Colombia Green Building Council;
  • Kathryn Dryden, Sheffield University and Atkins;
  • William Holley, Nottingham University and Buro Happold;
  • Elinor Huggett, University College London and Max Fordham;
  • John Hughes, University of Ulster and Semple and McKillop;
  • Chris Iddon, Loughborough University and SE Controls;
  • Kayley Lockhead, Leeds Metropolitan University and NG Bailey;
  • Emily Woodhouse, Cambridge University and AECOM.

All of the finalists will give a short presentation to the judging panel at the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE), London on Wednesday, 9th October 2013.

As well as the trip to the ASHRAE Winter Meeting, there are cash bursaries from the Rumford Club on offer to two runners up.

The occasion will also see the presentation of the IMechE Construction and Building Services Division Annual Award and will be followed by the annual ASHRAE Presidential Lecture given by the Society's president Bill Bahnfleth visiting from the US.

Bill Bahnfleth is also a member of the Graduate Award judging panel alongside CIBSE President George Adams; IMechE President Patrick Kniveton and last year's award winner Lee Tabis of NG Bailey. The panel, which is chaired by CIBSE ASHRAE Group chairman Professor Tim Dwyer, must decide which of the finalists shows the best combination of communication skills, sound engineering knowledge and practical understanding while presenting to a packed auditorium.

"It is very exciting to have such an impressive line-up for this year's awards," said Professor Dwyer. "The shortlisting panel had a very difficult job because there were such a large number of excellent entries.  So, while we are delighted with the final line-up, we must commiserate with the unsuccessful candidates so far, all of whom displayed talent and passion for our industry. The future is clearly in good hands."

This will be the 18th Annual Award, and each year the winner is selected for their potential to serve as an ambassador for young engineers at the ASHRAE Conference which is held in a different US city each year.

Attendance at the Awards event, which starts at 5.30pm on October 9th 2013, concludes with a hot buffet dinner, is free of charge and open to all, but numbers are strictly limited so anyone wishing to attend must reserve their place in advance by emailing: