Skip to content

CIBSE is currently upgrading its IT systems to improve core customer functions and increase efficiency and effectiveness. This will mean some website services will be offline until Monday 25 July. Help

Ready Steady Light

The Society of Light and Lighting, in partnership with Rose Bruford College is delighted to announce the winners of the 15th annual Ready Steady Light competition. The competition took place on Tuesday 21 March 2017.

The event saw 14 teams, competing against each other to design and set up temporary exterior installations, with a limited range of equipment in only 180 minutes. Returning to basic engineering and design, teams were tasked with lighting their site in its natural state with the equipment provided. They each had to overcome challenges without a budget and within the time constraints.

This year, the team from FUTURE Designs was awarded the much sought after Peer Prize with WSP Parsons Brinckerhoff picking up the Technical Prize, and Light Bureau the Artistic Prize. The judging panel for the Technical Prize was chaired by SLL President, Jeff Shaw and SLL President Elect Richard Caple chaired the  Artistic Award on behalf of IALD.

Last year's event saw the Speirs + Major team win the Best Technical Solution, along with the Peer Prize and the AECOM team were awarded the Artistic Award.

Students enrolled in Rose Bruford College's Lighting and Design BA course support the event, giving them the opportunity to see lighting professionals working in this unique environment.

If you have any questions about Ready Steady Light 2018, please email

Winner of the RSL Peer Prize 2017 by team FUTURE Designs

Ready Steady Light is held in partnership with Rose Bruford College and supported by the IALD. Further support and equipment is provided by Philips, Lee Filters, Whitelight and Erco. The teams came from a variety of organisations and institutions including; Llumarlite, Lighting Projects, Marcus Stefan Lighting Design, Future Designs, WSP-Parsons Brinkerhoff, DPA, UCL (A and B teams), Into Lighting, Arup, Light Bureau, Studio 29, Philips and Hoare Lea.

Winner of both the SLL Technical Prize 2017 by Team WSP Parsons Brinckerhoff

The SLL, along with Philips also had the pleasure of sponsoring the Junior Ready Steady Light competition, which took place on Saturday 18th March 2017, at Rose Bruford College. The teams from state secondary schools participated in a full day of activities that lead up to the final competition and prize-giving ceremony.

Winner of the Artistic Prize 2017 by Team Light Bureau

2016 winners:

Artistic Award - AECOM
Technical Award - Speirs + Major
Peer Prize - Speirs + Major