Skip to content

CIBSE Young Engineers Awards Sponsors 2017
CIBSE is currently upgrading its IT systems to improve core customer functions and increase efficiency and effectiveness. This will mean some website services will be offline until Monday 25 July. Help

CIBSE ASHRAE Graduate of the Year 2017 Winner

A huge congratulations to Raphael Amajuoyi – Hurley Palmer Flatt and Loughborough University. 

As the winner, Raphael will be attending the ASHRAE Winter Conference in Chicago as a guest of honour next January.

About the winner

Raphael is a graduate consultant within the energy and sustainability development team at Hurley Palmer Flatt. He gained a BSc in Architectural Engineering and Design Management and an MSc in Low Carbon Building Design and Modelling from Loughborough University.

He uses his academic knowledge to advise clients and design teams on low energy and sustainable development projects.
Raphael joined HPF shortly after his MSc and has since been involved in a variety of projects including residential, commercial and mixed-use developments. As a graduate, Raphael’s development is overseen by senior consultants who contribute towards planning his weekly workload and provide support when necessary to ensure all deliverables are met on time, to the required standard and within the allocated budget.

First runner up

Ana Recio – Arup and University of the West of England

Ana is a graduate mechanical engineer in the Arup Buildings Team based in Bristol. She was born and raised in Madrid and moved to Vienna before attending university in the UK. She holds a First Class Honours degree in Architecture and Environmental Engineering from the University of the West of England.

During her studies she was awarded the CIBSE Southwest Regional Student of the Year 2015, the Dean’s Award for Academic Excellence in 2016 and was also nominated for the President’s Bronze Medal for her final year project.

She has retained a strong link with the university, where she helps in lecturing and tutoring students. Ana is actively involved in the CIBSE Young Engineers Network and is the communications manager for the CIBSE South West region. She is also a STEM ambassador and enjoys volunteering in events encouraging young people to consider engineering related careers.

Third runner up

Kiyomi Honjigawa – BuroHappold Engineering and Heriot-Watt University

Kiyomi joined Buro Happold’s Edinburgh Office in 2016 as a graduate engineer having gained a Masters with distinction in Architectural Engineering from Heriot Watt University.

During her studies she received the Watt Club Medal and the CIBSE Scotland student award. Kiyomi was also one of two students selected for the Happold Trust scholarship and spent a summer working in the company’s Bath office.

She has a great interest in the complex design of science and healthcare sectors and is currently involved in the MEP design of a number of science sector projects in Scotland. This includes the HVAC system design of Cat 2 and Cat 3 laboratories and Home Office regulated research facilities.