Skip to content

CIBSE Young Engineers Awards Sponsors 2017
CIBSE is currently upgrading its IT systems to improve core customer functions and increase efficiency and effectiveness. This will mean some website services will be offline until Monday 25 July. Help

Judging Panel


Graduate of the Year 2016 - Antoni Sapina-Grau LCIBSE

Antoni Sapina Grau, of WSP Parsons Brinckerhoff, was named the 2016 CIBSE ASHRAE Graduate of the Year. His talk on digital engineering was voted the best presentation by a panel of five judges at the CIBSE Young Engineers’ Awards.


Chair of Judges - Professor Tim Dwyer CEng FCIBSE

Tim is a visiting professor of Building Services Systems at the Institute for Environmental Design and Engineering, UCL. He is Chair of the CIBSE Technical Symposium, Technical Editor for the CIBSE Journal and an educational and technical consultant.


CIBSE President Elect - Peter Wong CEng FCIBSE 

In 1995, Peter took the harbinger chair of the HKSAR Government’s first ever international conference on topics responding to the Kyoto Protocol.  Peter is now with the Professional Green Building Council. Peter’s first experience in accreditation of engineering degrees was when CIBSE held its inaugural exercise in HK.  He is now the Chair of the Accreditation Board, a position conferred by the Government to represent the interest of engineering graduates in the International Engineering Meeting of the Washington Accord. Peter was the Chair of CIBSE HK Branch and the founding Chair of Building Services Division of the Hong Kong Institution of Engineers of which Peter was elected President in 2008. 


ASHRAE President - Bjarne Olesen

Professor Bjarne Olesen of Technical University of Denmark holds a Master’s Degree in Civil Engg. and Ph.D in Laboratory of H&AC, Technical University of Denmark. He is a recipient of ASHRAE Distinguished Service Award and ASHRAE Exceptional Service Award. Professor Olesen is also a fellow of ASHRAE, REHVA, AICARR (Italian HVAC&R association) and International honorary member of SHASE (Society of Heating, AC & Sanitary Engineers of Japan). Professor Olesen is also a member of ASHRAE Board Planning committee; REHVA Board of Directors; Active House Alliance Board of Directors. He is also an Associate Editor of ASHRAE HVAC&R Journal and a member of the Editorial Committee of REHVA Journal.

Dr Mike Hammond, Rumford Club Chairman

Dr. Mike Hammond FCIOB is chairman of the Rumford Club and a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Building. Mike is an expert in Labour Market Information and Skills and Performance research related to the Construction and Building Services Engineering Sectors. Mike is currently a Director of Hammonds Enterprises Ltd offering Labour Market and Research solutions to both the Public and Private Sector, and an Associate Tutor and Examiner for the Chartered Institute of Building and the University of Leicester.

Stephen Tetlow, CEO, IMechE

Stephen is the Chief Executive of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers. He is a Chartered Engineer and a Fellow of the Institution. He began his career as an engineering apprentice with Smiths Industries Ltd working as a design engineer in the motor and aerospace divisions. He moved on to the Royal Electrical and Mechanical Engineers (REME) running engineering and logistics operations around the world on vehicle fleets, communications, aircraft and weapon systems. He also ran an international Defence team of engineers and scientists to lead NATO’s agenda for scientific research. After a spell as Director of Operations at the Defence Logistic Organisation, he became the head of REME and Director of Electrical and Mechanical Engineering for the British Army.
Stephen holds an MSc, an MBA and an honorary Doctorate in Engineering. He is also a Non Executive Director of Engineering UK and has been a leading campaigner to encourage young people into exciting careers in engineering.