Skip to content

CIBSE Young Engineers Awards Sponsors 2017
CIBSE is currently upgrading its IT systems to improve core customer functions and increase efficiency and effectiveness. This will mean some website services will be offline until Monday 25 July. Help

Past Winners


2017 Graduate of the Year Winner

Raphael Amajuoyi of Hurley Palmer Flatt and Loughborough University

2017 Runners up

Ana Recio – Arup and University of the West of England
Kiyomi Honjigawa – BuroHappold Engineering and Heriot-Watt University

2017 Finalists

Kathleen Hetrick – BuroHappold Engineering and University of Texas
Sharon Kidaha – Cundall and University of Sheffield
Lucas van Laack – Foster & Partners and University College London
Arton Merovci – Laing O’Rourke and London South Bank University
Baoying Tong – AECOM and University of Sydneyalists

Raphael is a graduate consultant within the energy and sustainability development team at Hurley Palmer Flatt. He gained a BSc in Architectural Engineering and Design Management and an MSc in Low Carbon Building Design and Modelling from Loughborough University.

He uses his academic knowledge to advise clients and design teams on low energy and sustainable development projects.

Raphael joined HPF shortly after his MSc and has since been involved in a variety of projects including residential, commercial and mixed-use developments. As a graduate, Raphael’s development is overseen by senior consultants who contribute towards planning his weekly workload and provide support when necessary to ensure all deliverables are met on time, to the required standard and within the allocated budget.

Past winners 1996-2016

2016: Antoni J. Sapina Grau - Brunel London University and WSP/Parsons Brinkerhoff
2015: Ryan Rodrigues - London South Bank University and Hurleypalmerflatt
2014: Emilia Targonska - Loughbrough University and Hoare Lea
2013: William Holley - University of Nottingham and Buro Happold
2012: Lee Tabis - Leeds College of Building and NG Bailey
2011: Angela Malynn - London South Bank University and Arup
2010: Michael Gardner - Coventry University and Pick Everard
2009: Emma Marshall - Northumbria University and RPS Gregory
2008: Morwenna Wilson - Bristol University and Arup
2007: Richard Unwin - London South Bank University and Overbury
2006: Michael Norton - London South Bank University
2005: Nigel Banks - Sheffield and Faber Maunsell
2004: Kai Lim - Imperial College and Faber Maunsell
2003: Dominic Shortland - London South Bank University
2002: Richard Kemp - University of Nottingham and Hoare Lea
2001: Ciara Ahern - Dublin Institute of Technology
1999: Ruth Kelly - Dublin Institute of Technology and AMEC
1998: Sophia Kauntz – Arup
1997: Matthew Pilgrim - Arup
1996: Kevin Mitchell - South Bank University and AMEC Design