Skip to main content
Buildingsimulation 308

The BSG is led by a steering committee consisting of: 

Prof Darren Woolf (Chair and Treasurer) - Wirth Research / Loughborough University

Darren is the Royal Academy of Engineering Visiting Professor of Building Engineering Physics at Loughborough University. He has supported the delivery of building physics solutions on UK and international projects across most market sectors for almost 25 years. He holds an MEng in Architectural Engineering and a thermofluids-based PhD. He is a Member of CIBSE and the Association for Project Management.

Darren has a keen interest in understanding and optimising the performance of natural and mechanical systems working with the building envelope to provide high quality, low energy environments. In his industrial roles he has supported, developed and promoted building physics best practices, R&D and skills & services. In his academic role, he lectures, supports research and helps to develop teaching courses. He enjoys co-authoring publications such as, previously, CIBSE’s Guide A and AM11 on Building Performance Modelling.

Darren Coppins (Vice-Chair) - Built Physics Ltd.

Darren is an independent Chartered Mechanical Engineer and Building Physics specialist with over 25 years experience of mechanical systems design and MEP design management and 20 years experience in building simulation & environmental design. He is Vice Chair of the CIBSE BSG Group and Chair of the CIBSE BSG Cert committee who are developing certification that is absent for Building Performance Modelling. Darren has taken part in pioneering modelling studies to help show how the performance gap can be closed and how we can use models to reduce the actual in use energy consumption in buildings.

He holds a Bachelor of Engineering Degree (2:1 Hons), is a Registered Chartered Engineer with the UK Engineering Council, and a full Member of CIBSE and ASHRAE Building Energy Modelling Professional Certified.

Alexandros Chalkias (Events Secretary) - Savills

Alexandros is an Associate Director, who is highly specialised in building physics and developing and implementing strategies for the transition to Net Zero Carbon, and has extensive experience in navigating planning policy and building regulations.

He holds an MEng in Civil Engineering, Environmental Technology & Transport, an MSc in Environmental Design & Engineering and is a Member of CIBSE. Over the years he has been involved in a variety of projects within the UK and internationally, including commercial offices, retail, education, mixed use and residential schemes.

Vasiliki Kourgiozou (Group Secretary) - UCL / BuroHappold

Vasiliki is a Chartered Engineer and a CIBSE Member. She has recently been awarded a scholarship from BuroHappold Engineering for doctoral research with the UCL Bartlett BSEER department in smart energy systems.

Her previous experience as a sustainability consultant has focused on building simulation including dynamic thermal modelling, natural and mechanical ventilation strategies as well as combining modelling and Post Occupancy Evaluation studies. She is also an expert in FEM thermal bridging modelling. Vasiliki holds an MSc in Environmental Design and Engineering and an MEng in Civil Engineering.

Hua Zhong (Deputy Events Secretary) - Nottingham Trent University

Hua Zhong is a senior lecturer and the module leader in the building services subject area in NTU, in addition to undertaking research, commercial and consultancy activities. Hua has a range of research interests with publications including building simulation and sustainable technology, Health building design, Sustainable technology development, low carbon and life cycle assessment.

Hua worked as a Building Services consultant in both the UK and China before she moved to her academic career. From the past industry experience, Hua has gained good building services design knowledge and an established track record of various projects, both new build and refurbishment schemes. Hua is conversant with current sustainable design strategies and has designed under this key requirement using dynamic thermal modelling and SBEM software to produce optimum solutions. Hua is a Chartered Engineer of CIBSE.

Dr Renjith Jaypalan-Nair (Social Media Secretary) - DesignBuilder

Renjith Jayapalan Nair is a Technical Marketing Engineer at DesignBuilder Software Ltd. Renjith’s interests cover multiple areas, such as Building performance simulation (BPS), simulation tools, their applicability and enhancement; new techniques in the optimization of buildings/ building shapes; Uncertainty/sensitivity analysis; decision support/techniques in the design process.

He holds a PhD in low energy building design, an MRes in Energy Demand in Built Environment, and an MTech in Construction Technology and Management. He is also a co-opted member of IBPSA-England.

Committee Members:

Dr Annie Marston - Hydrock
Mr Ben Abel - Hilson Moran
Mr David McConnell - Carbon Futures
Ms Gabriela Costa - Expedition Engineering
Prof Hazim B. Awbi - Reading University
Dr Rokia Raslan - UCL

Co-opted Members:

Mr Antonio Saporito - Atkins
Mr Baran Tanriverdi – Mott MacDonald
Dr Bahareh Salehi - London South Bank University
Mr David Cocking – DesignBuilder
Mr Enrico Crobu - Hoare Lea
Dr Farhang Tahmasebi – UCL
Mr Nisesh Jain – DesignBuilder/UCL
Prof Malcolm Cook - Loughborough University
Ms Mary Mitsopoulou – Hilson Moran
Dr Runming Yao - Reading University
Mr Sahm Sawaf – Arup
Dr Stevel Howell – Abercus
Dr Zsolt Bako-Biro - GT Advanced Ltd