Skip to content

CIBSE ASHRAE Graduate of the Year Award

The annual CIBSE ASHRAE Graduate of the Year Award is one of the industry’s most sought after accolades. The first prize includes a trip to the ASHRAE Winter Conference in Chicago, to which the award winner is invited as a guest of honour and is able to take part in the meeting as well as enjoy the host city. Generous cash bursaries are also presented to two runners up by the Rumford Club and all other finalists receive £100 each courtesty of the Manly Trust.

The competition is open to anyone that has graduated in a building services related discipline within the last two years. All shortlisted finalists are invited to give a short five minute presentation and are judged on their presentation and communication skills. 

Entry deadline: 1 August 2017- how to enter

Past Winners


2016 Graduate of the Year Winner: Antoni J. Sapina Grau - Brunel London University and WSP/Parsons Brinkerhoff

2016 Runners up:

Katie Ewing - University of Bath and Atkins

Scott Mason - University of Northampton and Lochinvar

Antoni joined WSP/Parsons Brinkerhoff as a graduate engineer having obtained an MSc in Building Services Engineering with Sustainable Energy at Brunel London University. Previously, he completed a BEng in Architectural Engineering at the Polytechnic University of Valencia.

Antoni gained construction and building services experience through working in Spain, Mexico and the UK prior to joining WSP/PB. As a graduate, he has qualified as a BREEAM Associate, Low Carbon Consultant and LCIBSE. He was also part of the team that won this year’s Teambuild Construction Competition UK. Antoni designs the services for major commercial developments and critical banking facilities. He organises the CPD training for of the company’s building services engineering department in the southeast region and is part of the Mechanical Forum Team.


2016 Finalists:

  • Samantha Carlsson – Cardiff University and Hoare Lea

  • Richard Garthwaite – Royal School of Military Engineeringl

  • Monica Madrigal – Universidad Politechnica Madrid/Foster & Partners

  • Farai Mwashita – Loughborough/Hilson Moran

  • Samima Saqib – Heriot Watt (Dubai).


Past winners 1996-2015

2015: Ryan Rodrigues - London South Bank University and Hurleypalmerflatt
2014: Emilia Targonska - Loughbrough University and Hoare Lea
2013: William Holley - University of Nottingham and Buro Happold
2012: Lee Tabis - Leeds College and NG Bailey
2011: Angela Malynn - London South Bank University and Arup
2010: Michael Gardner - Coventry University and Pick Everard
2009: Emma Marshall - Northumbria University and RPS Gregory
2008: Morwenna Wilson - Bristol University and Arup
2007: Richard Unwin - London South Bank University and Overbury
2006: Michael Norton - London South Bank University
2005: Nigel Banks - Sheffield and Faber Maunsell
2004: Kai Lim - Imperial College and Faber Maunsell
2003: Dominic Shortland - London South Bank University
2002: Richard Kemp - University of Nottingham and Hoare Lea
2001: Ciara Ahern - Dublin Institute of Technology
1999: Ruth Kelly - Dublin Institute of Technology and AMEC
1998: Sophia Kauntz – Arup
1997: Matthew Pilgrim - Arup
1996: Kevin Mitchell - South Bank University and AMEC Design

For more information or advice about the Graduate of the Year award, email or contact Razia Begum on +44(0) 20 8772 3623.