Skip to content

BSG Steering Committee

The BSG is led by a steering committee consisting of: 


Prof Darren Woolf (Chair) - Hoare Lea / Loughborough University

Darren is the Head of Building Physics at Hoare Lea and the Royal Academy of Engineering Visiting Professor of Building Engineering Physics at Loughborough University. He has supported the delivery of building physics solutions on UK and international projects across most market sectors for over 20 years. He holds an MEng in Architectural Engineering and a thermofluids-based PhD.  He is a Member of CIBSE and the Association for Project Management.

Darren has a keen interest in understanding and optimising the performance of natural and mechanical systems working with the building envelope to provide high quality, low energy environments. In his industrial role he supports, develops and promotes building physics best practices, R&D and skills & services across the firm and, in his academic role, he lectures, supports research and helps to develop teaching courses.  He enjoys co-authoring publications such as, previously, CIBSE’s Guide A and AM11 on Building Performance Modelling.



Darren Coppins (Vice-Chair) - Built Physics Ltd.

Darren is an independent Chartered Mechanical Engineer and Building Physics specialist with over 25 years experience of mechanical systems design and MEP design management and 20 years experience in building simulation & environmental design. He is Vice Chair of the CIBSE BSG Group and Chair of the CIBSE BSG Cert committee who are developing certification that is absent for Building Performance Modelling. Darren has taken part in pioneering modelling studies to help show how the performance gap can be closed and how we can use models to reduce the actual in use energy consumption in buildings.
He holds a Bachelor of Engineering Degree (2:1 Hons), is a Registered Chartered Engineer with the UK Engineering Council, a full Member of CIBSE and ASHRAE Building Energy Modelling Professional Certified.



Dr Naghman Khan (Group Secretary)

Dr. Naghman Khan is a founder member and Secretary of the CIBSE Building Simulation Group. He has a background in Physics and applied energy modelling in the Built Environment including an extensive knowledge and experience of building simulation and CFD tools. Naghman has worked as an energy and data consultant for commercial real estate, retail, University and NHS clients. More recently he has been working in applying modelling and simulation to smart cities and using big data tools and techniques to design and optimise a low carbon built environment.



Alexandros Chalkias (Events Secretary) – chapmanbdsp

Alexandros is an associate environmental consultant with his main focus being buildings physics, building regulation and certification as well as reviewing other group members’ work to ensure technical excellence and consistency in its approach and execution.

He holds an MEng in Civil Engineering, Environmental Technology & Transport, an MSc in Environmental Design & Engineering and is a Member of CIBSE. Over the years he has been involved in a variety of projects within the UK and internationally, including commercial offices, retail, education, mixed use and residential schemes.



Vasiliki Kourgiozou (Social Media Secretary) – UCL / BuroHappold

Vasiliki is a Chartered Engineer and a CIBSE Member. She has recently been awarded a scholarship from BuroHappold Engineering for doctoral research with the UCL Bartlett BSEER department in smart energy systems. 
Her previous experience as a sustainability consultant has focused on building simulation including dynamic thermal modeling, natural and mechanical ventilation strategies as well as combining modeling and Post Occupancy Evaluation studies. She is also an expert in FEM thermal bridging modeling. Vasiliki holds a MSc in Environmental Design and Engineering and a MEng in Civil Engineering.



Committee Members:

Ben Abel - Hilson Moran
Dr Antonino Saporito - Ramboll
Mr David Cocking - DesignBuilder
Ms Gabriela Costa - SWECO
Prof Hazim Awbi - The University of Reading
Dr Rokia Raslan - UCL
Dr Zsolt Bako-Biro - GT Advanced Ltd.

Co-opted Members:

Dr Hasim Altan - British University Dubai
Prof Malcolm Cook - Loughborough University
Dr Annie Marston - Hurley Palmer Flatt
Enrico Crobu - BuroHappold
Mary Mitsopoulou - Jacobs
Dr Runming Yao - University of Reading
Bahare Salehi - London South Bank University