Skip to content

Ready Steady Light 2017

21 March 2017 15:00 - 22:00

Rose Bruford College

DA15 9DF


CPD Hours

Entry now open for Ready Steady Light 2017

Click here for your team entry form

The Society of Light and Lighting, in partnership with Rose Bruford College is delighted to announce that entry is now open for the 15th annual Ready Steady Light competition. The competition will take place on Tuesday 21 March 2017.

We look forward to hosting 14 teams, competing against each other to design and set up temporary exterior installations, with a limited range of equipment in only 180 minutes. Returning to basic engineering and design, teams will be tasked with lighting their site in its natural state with the equipment provided. They each have to overcome challenges without a budget and within the time constraints.

Entrants have the chance of winning the following titles; Most Creative Effect, Best Technical Solution and the Peer Prize. The Most Creative Effect was presented by the International Association of Lighting Designers (IALD) and judged by a panel from Rose Bruford College. Teams will be judged on their use of natural features around the sites. The Best Technical Solution is judged on the consideration of health and safety, light pollution and energy use by an expert SLL panel and finally, the Peer Prize is judged by the contestants as their overall favourite.

Last year's event saw the Speirs + Major team win the Best Technical Solution, along with the Peer Prize and the AECOM team were awarded the Artistic Award.

Students enrolled in Rose Bruford College's Lighting and Design BA course support the event, giving them the opportunity to see lighting professionals working in this unique environment.

The deadline to enter your team is Friday 3rd March 2017. Click here for your team entry form.
If you have any questions about Ready Steady Light 2017, please email

Winner of the SLL Best Technical Solution 2016 and the Pee Prize by Team Speirs + Major - Photo by Ryan Lawrence

Ready Steady Light 2015 was organised in partnership with Rose Bruford College and support and equipment is provided by Philips, Lee Filters, Whitelight, Zumtobel Group and iGuzzini.

Winner of both the Artistic Award 2016 by Team AECOM - Photo by Ryan Lawrence

Competing in 2016 were teams from the following organisations and institutions; Brunel, UCL, teams A and B, Thorlux, FUTURE Designs, Speirs + Major, Light Bureau, Philips, AECOM, GIA Equation, Nulty +, MID Lighting, Rose Bruford and the Oddballs team (formed on Twitter).

Team UCL B 2016 - Photo by Ryan Lawrence

Team Rose Bruford 2016 - Photo by Ryan Lawrence