Skip to content

SLL Annual Awards

03 December 2020 16:00 - 17:30


CPD Hours

Join the Society of Light and Lighting (SLL) in recognising and celebrating the achievements of its members on 3 December 2020.

Register Now

Traditionally, the SLL Awards are held after the Society's AGM in May each year. However, for the first time this year's Awards will be held as a standalone online event. Hosted by SLL President Elect, Ruth Kelly Waskett, the Society will announce the winners of the following awards:

- SLL Honorary Fellowship

Honorary Fellowship of the Society is given not only in recognition of a significant contribution to the SLL, but also the wider lighting profession

- SLL Lighting Award

The Lighting Award is given to acknowledge outstanding service to the Society

- The SLL President's Medal

The SLL President’s Medal was first awarded to Joe Lynes in 2009, it recognises a significant and lifelong contribution to lighting

- The Leon Gaster Award

The Leon Gaster award is presented for the best paper concerned with lighting applications and recognises the role that Leon Gaster made as the founder of the Illuminating Engineering Society in 1909. The award was first made in 1929. The IES is of course the forerunner of the Society of Light and Lighting.

- The Walsh Weston Award

The Walsh Weston award is for the best paper of more fundamental lighting matters. It recognises the roles of J W T Walsh who was instrumental in laying down the systems of photometry we use today and H C Weston who worked in the area of illumination and work, which led to the first IES task illuminance recommendations. In other words the first lighting Code in the UK.

The Society will also recognise the efforts of the immediate past president, Jim Shove FSLL.

After initially postponing the Awards, the hope is that by holding this event online, members of the international lighting community will be able to join this celebration.


If you have any questions, please contact