Skip to content

CIBSE Young Engineers Awards Sponsors 2017
CIBSE is currently upgrading its IT systems to improve core customer functions and increase efficiency and effectiveness. This will mean some website services will be offline until Monday 25 July. Help

Graduate of the Year

The annual CIBSE ASHRAE Graduate of the Year Award is one of the industry’s most sought after accolades. The first prize includes a trip to the ASHRAE Winter Conference in Chicago, to which the award winner is invited as a guest of honour and is able to take part in the meeting as well as enjoy the host city. Generous cash bursaries are also presented to two runners up by the Rumford Club and all other finalists receive £100 each courtesty of the Manly Trust.

The competition is open to anyone that has graduated in a building services related discipline within the last two years.

All shortlisted finalists are invited to give a short five minute presentation to the judging panel and an audience at the IMechE. Graduates are judged on their presentation and communication skills. The presentation topic will be revealed to finalists closer to the date - previous presentation topics have included:

2017: Is engineering an  art and should building services professionals be moore creative in the way they approach projects? 
2016: Computers and digital technologies are transforming the way engineers work. What impact do you think this is having on innovation; professionalism; and traditional engineering skills?
2015: How does collaboration and teamwork enahance the way we, as engineers, work?
2014: How is technology transforming the way we, as engineers, work?

What the Judges are looking for

  • 250 words describing what the graduate has achieved academically and/or practically on projects.
  • 250 words describing why the graduate would make a good ambassador for the building services profession. 

Benefits of entry

Shorlisted finalists:

  • The Manly Trust present £100 to all the shortlisted finalists (excluding the winner and two runners-up who receive the prizes below).
  • Feature in a write up in the CIBSE Journal (read the 2016 article)
  • Feature in an article on CIBSE website News feed (read the 2016 press release)
  • Feature in a CIBSE press release distributed to industry press
  • Invited to attend the Young Engineers Awards 2017 ceremony at IMechE on 12 October 2017 and give a presentation 
  • First Prize: A trip to next year’s ASHRAE Conference in Chicago
  • Runner-up Prizes: The Rumford Club will present bursaries of £600 and £300 to the second and third place. 
  • Feature in a video hosted on the CIBSE website and posted on the CIBSE YouTube Channel (watch the 2016 video)
  • Feature in a write up in the CIBSE Journal (read the 2016 article)
  • Feature in an article on the CIBSE website News feed (read 2016 article)
  • Featured in the CIBSE Young Engineers Awards Winners press release
  • Sent photographs from the winners presentation

How to enter

Details for 2018 entries will follow shortly

2017 Judging panel

Graduate of the Year 2016 – Antoni Sapina-Grau
CIBSE President – Peter Wong CEng FCIBSE
ASHRAE President – Bjarne Olesen
IMechE President – Carolyn Griffiths
Rumford Club chairman – Mike Hammond
Chair of Judges – Tim Dwyer CEng FCIBSE

If you have any questions then please contact Razia on 020 8772 3623 or