Skip to content

CIBSE is currently upgrading its IT systems to improve core customer functions and increase efficiency and effectiveness. This will mean some website services will be offline until Monday 25 July. Help

About the School Design Group

The CIBSE School Design Group aims to foster long-term knowledge exchange and partnership between stakeholders working on sustainable school design, construction and maintenance.

The CIBSE School Design Group has a microsite at

Principal Terms of Reference

  • to foster knowledge exchange between all interested parties working on sustainable school design.
  • to develop a strategy for healthy and sustainable school buildings.
  • to encourage cooperation between different professional bodies and institutions of relevance for school design.
  • to reflect on changing procurement routes and design standards.
  • to identify gaps in the science of designing learning environments.
  • to initiate cooperation between academia and industry to resolve the problems of relevance to the industry.

School Design Group Committee

CIBSE SDG Officers:
Dr Andrew Wright CEng FCIBSE, De Montfort University – Chair
Ann Bodkin, Architect Education Funding Agency – Vice-Chair
Joe Jack Williams,  Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios – Secretary

Committee Members:
Dejan Mumovic, UCL
David Ross,TUV SUD
Shaun Fitzgerald, Breathing Buildings
Alistair Rowe, Atkins
Hershil Patel, Jacobs
Greg Keeling, Essex County Council
Professor Derek Clements-Croome, Reading University