Skip to content

Search the knowledge portal

  • PublisherCIBSE
  • Product CodeGVE/10
  • Number of pages213
  • Publication DateMay 2010
  • ISBN9781906846138

GVE (2010) (inactive)

GVE (2010) (inactive)

Note: A new edition of CIBSE Guide E has been published (2019). View now.


This edition:

Now in its third edition, CIBSE Guide E has been fully updated to take into account new knowledge and latest techniques. Written by experienced fire engineers, it is intended to give useful, practical advice on fire safety engineering.

This new edition has been updated throughout to include BS9999 and other recent developments. It includes two completely new chapters on performance based design principles and application of risk assessment to fire engineering designs.


1. Introduction

2. Legislation, standards and strategy

3. Building designation

4. Performance-based design principles

5. Application of risk assessment to fire engineering designs

6. Fire dynamics

7. Means of escape and human factors

8. Fire detection and alarm

9. Emergency lighting

10. Fire and smoke ventilation

11. Fire suppression

12. Compartmentation

13. Firefighting

14. Fire safety management

15. Fire safety on construction sites

Supplementary files:

Note: A Corrigendum was issued in December 2012 with corrections to equations on Pages 6-­14 and 11-9. This is freely available to CIBSE members here.


Steering Committee:

Chair: David B. Smith

Members: John Barnfield (Tenos Fire Safety Engineering); Peter Bressington (Arup); Prof. W K Chow (The Hong Kong Polytechnic University); Mike Dennett (Independent Consultant); Miller Hannah (Hoare Lea); John Hopkinson (AECOM); Bob Nixon (3M Fire Protection Consultant); Simon Robinson (WSP Group plc); Martin Shipp (BRE); Brent Sutherland (Norman Disney & Young); Terry M. Watson (Frontline Fire International Ltd.); Martin Weller (Transport for London); Peter Wilkinson (Fire Protection Association); Roger Wilton (Fire Industry Association)

Other authors and contributors: Rodrigo Machado (AECOM); Sam Liptrott; Steve Marshall; Anna Cockayne (WSP Group plc); Kathryn Lewis (Hoare Lea); Colin J. Roberts (Arup)