Skip to content


The CIBSE Board is the governing body of the Institution, with the CIBSE Council acting as a consultative and representative body.

New Institution Officers, Board Members and Council Members are elected each year to take office from the AGM in May. Officers and Elected Board Members serve on the Board, which is made up of the seven Officers (President, President-Elect, Three Vice-Presidents, Honorary Treasurer and Immediate Past President) and five elected members.

The Council of the Institution is a much larger consultative body which exists to advise the Board on Institution policy. It is composed mainly of representatives of the Regions, Societies, Groups and Standing Committees, but also has a number of places for elected members.

CIBSE Governance Structure CIBSE Governance Structure

Download CIBSE Governance Structure (PDF)