Skip to main content
Back To Building Simulation Group

Building Simulation Awards

Buildingsimulation 308

The CIBSE Building Simulation Group is proud to host two annual awards every year; the CIBSE Building Simulation Award; and the CIBSE Building Simulation Young Modeller Award.

The CIBSE Building Simulation Award focuses on the use of building simulation in projects and aim to encourage innovation in building simulation techniques. Entries should provide information on a project that has a simulation or modelling aspect, giving details about why simulation and modelling were important. All entries will be reviewed by a panel of experts, who will select six entrants to present their work on an event as part of the Build2Perform programme, where they will be judged and the winner announced.

Building Simulation Awards 2022 Entry Form

With the CIBSE Building Simulation Young Modeller Award, we recognise the outstanding contributions of young engineers, apprentices and sustainability consultants working with building simulation and encompassing any type of simulation for the built environment. Nominees who hold a position in academia, industry, or public sector and are within 3 years of completion of their highest degree or 5 years of professional experience in the field as well as undergraduates, apprentices or those graduating this year will be welcome to apply. All entries will be peer-reviewed by a panel of experts, and then the winner will be announced at an event as part of the Build2Perform programme.

Building Simulation Young Modeller Award 2022 Entry Form

Deadline for submissions is October 16 2022

Past CIBSE Building Simulation Award results

2021 - Winner: Patricia Pino, Wirth Research - Covid-19 and the work environment: A multi-tool modelling approach to estimate infection risk within office spaces
2020 - Winner: Meredith Davey, Atelier Ten - Jewel Changi Airport
2019 - Winner: Liam Harrington, DSSR - Multi-tool building simulation modelling for Rolls Royce factory ventilation retrofit
2018 - Winner: Shikha Bhardwaj, chapmanbdsp - Shenzhen World Exhibition and Conference Centre
2016 - Winner: Sajal Chowdhury, Graduate School of Engineering, Hokkaido University, Japan  
2015 - Winner: Eugenio Garcia,University of Central Lancashire  
2014 - Winner: Fernando Vásquez Rodríguez, University of Reading
2013 - Winner: Rengweixin Chen, University of Cambridge
2012 - Winner: Yair Schwartz, University College London

Past CIBSE Building Simulation Young Modeller Award results

2021 - Winner: Nishesh Jain - University College London
2020 - Winner: Weijun ‘Allen’ Mei - Cyclone Energy Group, Chicago