Skip to content

North East Committee

Join the North East Committee

We are looking for individuals to join the North East Region Committee. Chaired by Dr. Bobo Ng, the Committee have events planned over the next few months but are looking for new members to help develop their events programme and engage more members across the region.

Joining a CIBSE committee can be very rewarding and is good for developing skills, it also provides great networking opportunities. As well the chance to contribute to the region and the industry, committee work counts as CPD. A key task is coordinating and scheduling the programme of events. In addition, committee members are expected to attend some of the events and meetings occasionally as needed before or after a planned event. 

With more Committee Members we can reach out to the wider community and increase networking and a range of other benefits to the members in the region. 

If you would be interested in finding out more about joining the North East Region Committee please contact Dr. Bobo Ng at

Dr Bobo Ng, Regional Chair

Dr Ng holds a first-class honours degree in Building Services Engineering, a PhD in geothermal energy and a fellowship in Higher Education Academy (FHEA) from Northumbria University, UK. She has over 11 years of academic experience in the UK and highly experienced in a range of renewable/ low carbon technologies, particularly heat pump technologies and combined heat and power (CHP) optimisation.

Recently, Dr Ng decided to switch from academia to the industry and starting a new chapter in her career. She will be joining a local authority later this year and advising them on the issues of energy performance and renewables development in the region.  
Dr Ng joined the regional committee in 2014 and was nominated as the Vice chair in 2017.

Vice Chairman:

Phillip Hilton-West

Hon Secretary:

John Sproxton

Hon Treasurer:

Neil Duffy

Other holders of named Regional Committee posts, eg:


Education and Careers Champion

Phillip Hilton-West

Membership Champion

Steve Arnold

Publicity/Communications Officer

Philip Oliver

Webmaster/IT Officer

Philip Oliver

Social Secretary



Programme/Meeting Secretary



YEN Representative

Abbie Naisbett


SLL Lighting Representative



Region Buddy



Regional Almoner

Dr. Anne Raine

University Liaison

Jess Tindall

Other committee Members Ranjith Rosa
Michael Leadbitter