Skip to main content
About last night … 2023 CIBSE ANZ Young Engineers Awards Ceremony
Back To All News

About last night … 2023 CIBSE ANZ Young Engineers Awards Ceremony

27 Oct 23

The 2023 CIBSE ANZ Young Engineers Awards took place last night, showcasing the exceptional talent and innovation within the building services engineering industry. The event was held at the stunning Rivers Edge Events in Melbourne, where we celebrated the achievements of our young professionals who have demonstrated exceptional skill, dedication, and creativity in their work. 

A highlight of the evening was the captivating keynote address delivered by esteemed environmental scientist, author, and broadcaster, Rob Gell AM. Mr Gell shared insights and perspectives on the pivotal role of young engineers in shaping a sustainable future, emphasising the importance of innovation and collaboration in the building services engineering field.

CIBSE ANZ Young Engineers Network Chair Niro Siriwardena took the stage following Rob’s keynote to introduce the award categories. A huge congratulations to our three winners for 2023:

  • Max Eppelstun Mark Griffin Student of the Year
  • Vanessa O’Brien Haris Moraitis Graduate of the Year
  • Deejan Ferrao Jack Pirie Young Engineer of the Year

Margaret Rozali of AECOM & Max Eppelstun, Student of the Year Winner 


Jerry Zhang, Graduate of the Year finalist, Laurelle Bird of Aurecon, Vanessa O`Brien Graduate of the Year & Steven Lam, Graduate of the Year finalist. 


Kieran Steele of Northrop Consulting Engineers & Deejan Ferrao, Young Engineer of the Year


CIBSE ANZ also extends its heartfelt congratulations to the 2023 runners-up.

Student of the Year:

Maddie Huynh,  Hatch | University of Newcastle

Nolan Strawbridge,  Arup | University of Queensland

Graduate of the Year:

Steven Lam, Mott MacDonald 

Jerry Zhang, Beca 

Young Engineer of the Year:

Arsen Ilan, WSP

Kalev Domican, Aurecon

Wrapping up the evening, ANZ Chair Phil Senn praised the ongoing growth and support of the event and took the opportunity to announce two new categories in 2024:

  • Graduate Development Program of the Year
  • Young Engineer Champion of the Year

“These two new categories are a natural extension for annual awards. We’re excited to be able to acknowledge the people and programs that are fostering the next generation of building services engineers” said Phil.


Mark Griffin Award - Student of the Year:

Max Eppelstun, Undergraduate Electrical Engineer – Northrop Consulting Engineers & Australian National University 


Haris Moraitis Award - Graduate of the Year:

Vanessa O’Brien, Graduate Hydraulics and Fire Services Engineer – Arup 


Jack Pirie Award - Young Engineer of the Year:

Deejan Ferrao, Manager - Future Focus Rating Tools - Green Building Council of Australia

See their winning pitch videos here

The awards ceremony served as a testament to the remarkable talent within the building services engineering community and highlighted the invaluable contributions of these young professionals in creating sustainable, efficient, and innovative solutions for the built environment.

Well done to all winners and runners-up for your outstanding achievements and CIBSE wishes them continued success in their careers.


Share this page