Skip to main content
Back To All News

CIBSE ANZ Young Engineers Awards 2021 - Winners Announced

22 Nov 21

The CIBSE ANZ Young Engineers Awards 2021 was held last Thursday, 18 November online and hosted by Prateek Alkesh the new ANZ Young Engineers Network Chair. The Ceremony ensured the audience was well entertained throughout with prize giveaways, interviews with the finalists, well wishes from industry leaders. CIBSE CEO, Ruth Carter also delivered a special message with words of advice that she received early on in her career.

2021 Award Winners included:

  • Vivien Kha, UNSW and Undergraduate Hydraulics Engineer at Northrop - Mark Griffin Award for Student of the Year.
  • Neyra Nie, Graduate Electrical Engineer at Beca - Haris Moraitis Award for Graduate of the Year
  • Arky Elston, Mechanical Engineer at Aurecon - Jack Pirie Award for Young Engineer of the Year 

The Judges were extremely impressed by the quality of the submissions, and the research undertaken.
A huge congratulations to all of our finalists who should be highly commended for their efforts. It is a great achievement to make it to Awards night and we expect to spotlight more of the finalists in the coming months.
This year the Graduate of the Year Award was, for the first time, named in honour of a very special contributor to the association, Haris Moraitis, FCIBSE. Haris was a CIBSE NSW committee member and volunteer. He contributed to the production of these Awards year on year, as well as so many CIBSE NSW events and panel sessions. His special gift was bringing people together from different industries and associations. Haris sadly passed away earlier in the year and will be missed by the CIBSE committee who knew him well.

Thank you to all who contributed to the tribute videos for Haris Moraitis, Jack Pirie and Mark Griffin, the messages conveyed the huge contribution these men made to the industry and how much they are missed by colleagues, family and friends.

The 2022 Awards will open for entries in February and we look forward to seeing some new faces and maybe even some of the 2021 finalists back again.

Thank you to our sponsors and partners.

Share this page