Skip to main content
Young Engineers Awards shortlist leading the pack
Back To All News

Young Engineers Awards shortlist leading the pack

18 Sep 23

Engineering undergraduates, apprentices and graduates have demonstrated their passion and dedication to the industry to be shortlisted for the CIBSE Young Engineers Awards (YEAs) 2023. They are joined in the lineup by nine companies leading the way in nurturing and supporting industry talent.

The CIBSE Young Engineers Awards recognise and reward the innovative thinking, hard work and skills of graduates, apprentices, and undergraduates whilst also showcasing employers who are truly committed to developing and encouraging young talent.

New for 2023 the Undergraduate award sees five undergraduates shortlisted for their final year project. The award has been brought within the YEA’s to better showcase those making exceptional starts on their very early paths to careers in building services engineering and is open to students in their final year of a BSc. MSc and Meng study.

In the Apprentice of the Year award, 12 apprentices across two categories – Degree (level 5-7) and Technician (level 3-4) - have been shortlisted, following submissions of a three minute video focusing on an aspect of their experience as building services apprentices.

Nine young engineers have made it through to the Graduate of the Year finals, each of which will demonstrate their presentation skills in front of a panel of industry judges at the Awards night in October, with the overall winner receiving a fully paid trip to the ASHRAE Winter Conference.

In the Employer of the Year award, nine companies have been shortlisted across three categories for small, medium and large companies, for their commitment to placing the growth of their employees at the heart of their business.

Adrian Catchpole CIBSE President said: ‘These shortlisted young engineers are at the heart of our industry’s ability to meet our commitments to cutting global emissions and retrofitting buildings for net zero. It is their passion and talent that we will be relying on to lead the way in driving innovation and change. To enable them to reach their full potential we need companies committed to developing their skills. Our employer shortlist are doing just that.’

The Awards are taking place on 12 October at the Royal College of Physicians, London, and are sponsored by ACV, Bcia, Eaton, ideal Heating, Panasonic and Swegon.

For more information and to book your place:

Full shortlist:

Undergraduate of the Year

Erin Cullen, Heriot Watt University
Ruairi Devlin, University of Nottingham
Lam Tsz Kai, Leeds Beckett University
Fraser Nicoll, Glasgow Caledonian University
Roana Pavia, The Malta College of Arts, Science & Technology


Level 3-4
Ryan Beary
Callum Doyle
Sidney Hargreaves
Dan Herridge
Sean John
Mikey Nagle

Level 5-7
Finley Bowdidge
Mitchell Holland
James McLarnon
Lauren McNaughton
Owen Sayers
Jess Sergeant

Graduate of the Year

Brianna Barrow, WSP (Houston, Texas) and Texas A&M University
Lawrence Bramall, Scotch Partners and LSBU
Phil Holker, Fosters and University College London
Francesca James, Fairheat and Cambridge University
Tom McGovern, Arup and Liverpool John Moores
Hiba Talmoust, Waterman Group and Queen Mary
Lewis Turner, Arup and Leeds Beckett
Matthew Yates, Atelier Ten and De Montfort University
Hannah Yorwerth, AECOM and Warwick University

Employer of the Year

Small Company:
Whitecode Consulting

Medium Company:
Integrated Environmental Solutions
PM Group

Large Company:
Hoare Lea

Share this page