Skip to content


About the CIBSE Council
CEO Reports
Council Records
Council Members

About CIBSE Council

When the governance of CIBSE was reviewed in 2005 and the Board became the governing body of the Institution, it was agreed that was a clear need for Council to continue as a consultative and representative body.  Since then, the consultative Council has continued to meet three times a year and works with the Board to add value to the governance of the Institution.

The key roles of Council are to:

  • Influence the direction and strategy of the Institution.
  • Receive regular briefings on the Institution's progress.
  • Communicate the representative views of the members to the Board.
  • Monitor and evaluate the activities of the Institution.

To achieve this the Council receives reports from the Chief Executive, is consulted by the Board on any major proposals for change, debates matters of importance and concern to the Institution and its membership, and canvasses and represents the views of Regions, Societies and Groups.

Council is composed of over 60 members, including:

All members of the Board 
Up to nine elected Members 
2 Past Presidents 
All Standing Committee Chairs
All Regional Chairs
All Society Chairs
All Group Chairs
Other key representatives, eg Patrons, Young Engineers Network, REHVA. 

Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Reports

Click links to download as PDF.

CEO Report Jun 2021
CEO Report Feb 2021

CEO Report Oct 2020
CEO Report Jun 2020
CEO Report Jan 2020

CEO Report Oct 2019
CEO Report Jun 2019
CEO Report Feb 2019

CEO Report Oct 2018
CEO Report Jun 2018
CEO Report Feb 2018

CEO Report Oct 2017
CEO Report Jun 2017
CEO Report Feb 2017

CEO Report Oct 2016
CEO Report Jun 2016
CEO Report Feb 2016

CEO Report Oct 2015
CEO Report Jun 2015
CEO Report Feb 2015

CEO Report Oct 2014
CEO Report Jun 2014
CEO Reports Feb 2014

CEO Reports Oct 2013
CEO Reports Jun 2013
CEO Reports Feb 2013

CEO Reports Oct 2012
CEO Report Jun 2012
CEO Report Feb 2012

CEO Report Oct 2011
CEO Report Jun 2011
CEO Report Feb 2011

CEO Report Oct 2010
CEO Report Jun 2010
CEO Report Feb 2010

Council Records

Click links to download as PDF

Council Record Feb 2021

Council Record Oct 2020
Council Record Jun 2020
Council Record Jan 2020

Council Record Oct 2019
Council Record Jun 2019
Council Record Feb 2019

Council Record Oct 2018
Council Record Jun 2018
Council Record Feb 2018

Council Record Oct 2017
Council Record Jun 2017
Council Record Feb 2017

Council Record Oct 2016
Council Record Jun 2016
Council Record Feb 2016

Council Record Oct 2015
Council Record Jun 2015
Council Record Feb 2015

Council Record Oct 2014
Council Record Jun 2014
Council Record Feb 2014

Council Record Oct 2013
Council Record Jun 2013
Council Record Feb 2013

Council Record Oct 2012
Council Record Jun 2012
Council Record Feb 2012

Council Record Oct 2011
Council Record Jun 2011
Council Record Feb 2011

Council Record Oct 2010
Council Record Jun 2010
Council Record Feb 2010

CIBSE Council Members 2021/22

President: Kevin Kelly
President-Elect: Kevin Mitchell
Vice-President: Fiona Cousins
Vice-President: Susan Hone-Brookes
Vice-President: P L Yuen
Hon Treasurer: Adrian Catchpole

Elected Members of the Board

Vince Arnold, David Cooper, Les Copeland, Laura Mansel-Thomas, David Fitzpatrick.

Past Presidents

Stephen Lisk, Lynne Jack, Stuart MacPherson

Elected Members of Council

Colin Ashford, Linda Vidler, Mike Smith,Maria Longo, Sebastian Gray, Scott Mason, Laura Mansel-Thomas, Andrew Piper, Becci Taylor

Co-opted Members: Ashley Bateson
Patrons Representative: Nick Mead.
Society Representatives: Ruth Kelly Waskett (SLL), Peter White (SoPHE), Chris Aspinall (SFE), Dean Greer (ILEVE), Les Copeland (SDE), Scott Mason (Patrons).
Young Engineers Network: Rebecca Neill
YEN Mentor: Andrew Saville
Inclusivity Panel: Alexandra Logan
REHVA: Andy Ford/David Fisk
WiBSE: Annette Ash
EC(UK) Board Rep:  Andrew Rowe
Fellows Network: Geoff Prudence

Standing Committee Chairs

Education Training & Membership (ET&M): Andrew Rowe
Communications Committee (CC): David Fitzpatrick
Technical Committee (TC): Katie Clemence-Jackson
Professional Conduct Committee (PPC): Doug King
Knowledge Management Committee (KMC): Francis (Ted) Pilbeam - KMC Profile
Regional Liaison Committee (RLC): Kevin Mitchell /Kevin Kelly

Group Representatives

ASHRAE: David Green
Building Simulation: Darren Woolf
CHP: Huw Blackwell
Chimneys & Flues: Jim Kinnibrugh
Day Lighting: John Mardaljevic
Electrical Services: Tony Sung
Energy Performance: Roger Macklin
Facilities Management: Geoff Prudence
Healthcare: Frank Mills
Heritage: Andrew More
Homes for the Future: Tom Lelyveld
HVAC Systems : Mary-Ann Clarke
Intelligent Buildings: Derek Clements Croome
IT & Controls: Peter McDermott
Lifts: Adam Scott
Natural Ventilation: Chris Iddon
Resilient Cities : Kerstin Johansen
School Design: Jearemy Climas

Regional Representatives

Australia & New Zealand: Mark Crawford
East Anglia: Nicola Booth
East Midlands: Jarrod Tandy
HC North East: James Bourne
HC North West: Gita Maruthayanar
HC South East: Steven Peet
HC South West : Hakeem Makanju
Hong Kong: Keith Ma
Ireland: Michael Curran
Merseyside/North Wales: Paul Guyers
Northern Ireland: Jonathan Grimshaw
North East: P Hilton-West
North West: Will Harrop
Scottish: Karen Warner
South Wales: Paul Bullock
South West: Carla Bartholomew
Southern: Paul Coe
West Midlands: Martin Trentham
UAE: Farah Naz
Yorkshire: Pritpal Jandu