Skip to main content

Join us as we announce the winners of the ANZ Young Engineers Awards 2022.

Buy Tickets 

The CIBSE ANZ Awards and Annual Cocktail Function will take place at the Parliament of NSW on Thursday 7 July 2022.

This is the institution's flagship event bringing together industry and association leaders from around the region.

CIBSE ANZ YEN Chair, Nirodha Siriwardena, will host the Awards Ceremony as we celebrate the outstanding finalists of the 2022 Young Engineers Awards in three categories: 

  • Mark Griffin Student of the Year Award
  • Haris Moraitis Graduate of the Year Award
  • Jack Pirie Young Engineer of the Year Award

With the help of our Award sponsors, we will announce the winners and share the winning videos across three categories.

We will also honour the 2020 & 2021 Award winners who missed out on a function in the last two years.

Keynote speaker: Dr Ashak Nathwani AM – PhD (USYD)
Ashak, born in Uganda, came to Australia as a penniless refugee in 1972.

Ashak lectures in the Schools of Architectural Science and Mechanical Engineering at the University of Sydney in Mechanical Services, Sustainability and Facilities Management.

Ashak is one of the founding board members of the Air Conditioning, Refrigeration & Building Services (ARBS) Education & Research Foundation, supporting research and training.
Prior to joining the University in 2012, Ashak was a Director for 15 years of his 33 years tenure at Norman Disney & Young (NDY), an international consulting engineering firm. He contributed to the implementation of innovative and sustainable technologies in several iconic projects including ABC & SBS Radio & TV Studios, Pinewood Film Studios, Australian National Maritime Museum, Western Sydney Record Centre (largest geothermal system in NSW), Sydney 2000 Olympic venues (unique under-seat displacement air conditioning systems) and several green buildings like 1 Bligh Street, Sydney. 

In June 2017, Ashak was awarded AM - Member of the Order of Australia for significant service to the Ismaili Muslim community in Australia, to tertiary education in sustainable design, and to engineering. 

In March 2022, Ashak successfully defended his Doctor of Philosophy (PhD), involving research on Air Conditioning in Commercial Buildings – cost, comfort, and impacts on climate change and Covid transmission minimisation. 

Date: Thursday 7 July 2022 6:00pm - 9:00pm
Venue: Parliament of NSW, 6 Macquarie Street, Sydney 2000

Buy Tickets 

Following the awards ceremony, guests will be entertained by a musical duet and enjoy an array of canapes and drinks.

The ceremony will also be live-streamed from 6:30pm AEST and free to watch online for those unable to attend the ceremony.

If you have any questions about the Awards Function contact: Tayana Grundy, [email protected] 

CIBSE would like to thank our 2022 Supporters: