Skip to content

YEN South Wales Committee

Our Current Comittee Members

Carolina Fernandes – Chair

Stacey Green – Secretary

Joseff Morris – Vice Chair
As a Mechanical Engineer with AECOM in Cardiff, I have been involved with the CIBSE YEN South Wales Committee since 2016.
I got involved with the CIBSE YEN to meet other engineers in my region and share experiences.
I enjoy attending and helping to organise our technical events, be them CPDs or hand-on workshops/tours, and our social events.
I believe being an active part of the building services community is essential for young and developing engineers.

Patrick Morgan – Social Secretary
Patrick has an HNC in Building Services from the University of South Wales and currently studying a (BEng) Building Services course at University West of England. Patrick currently works at McCann & Partners as a Junior Mechanical Design Engineer.

Basheer Soudi – Committee Member
As a Graduate Engineer at the Cardiff Office of AECOM, I have been involved with CIBSE YEN South Wales Committee as a member on 21st of February 2018.
As an active member I support in organising networking evenings, technical seminars and social events. I enjoy encouraging young people to progress their careers by becoming chartered engineers, which is a widely respected professional qualification”

Lewis Doherty – Committee Member
Lewis is an electrical engineer with a varied skill set and knowledge base. Having started his career in contracting; Lewis has completed an electrical apprenticeship and worked as a Junior Contracts Manager for Whitehead Building Services.
In 2015, Lewis joined DRAC Consulting as an Electrical Engineer and has since completed a HND in Building Service Engineering at Bridgend College.
Lewis joined the CIBSE YEN South Wales Committee mid-2018 and takes pride in being part of a like-minded team that not only strive to further develop themselves; but also assist in the development of others within the region.
Lewis’s key values are to deliver integrated design through close co-ordination with design teams; and also, in providing end-users with design solutions that are both low carbon and simple to use.

Jonathan Milne – Committee Member
Jonathan has a BEng in Mechanical Engineering from Cardiff University and a MSc in Building Services Engineering and Sustainable Energy from Brunel University. Jonathan currently works at Hydrock as a Senior Mechanical Engineer, having previously spent 5 years at AECOM. Jonathan also holds a LCEA Level 5 qualification, and is a certified DEC assessor

Megan Thomas – Committee Member
My name is Megan Thomas and I work for WSP in Cardiff as a Graduate Building Services Engineer.
I am interested in the use of eco-friendly methods of building and powering our built environment. To further this, I am part of a Women’s STEM Expedition to Malawi in May 2019, working with the local community to design and build a STEM classroom for Rainbow Hope School, utilising environmentally sustainable materials.
I joined the CIBSE YEN to get more involved in the building services profession and to help organise CPD’s and socials to encourage networking between young people in the industry.

Kris Bowers – Committee Member

Kris has been a committee member of CIBSE YEN South Wales since 2015.  Kris graduated Glamorgan University with a bachelor’s degree in Electrical and Electronic Engineering which was attained through the network 75 scheme, during this time Kris was placed with local consults HTP.  Kris Joined WSP as an Engineer shortly after graduating and has worked on a variety of local and international projects and progressed to Principal Engineer after achieving IEng Status in 2016.  He is excited to be a part of CIBSE YEN for the personal growth and networking opportunities it offers.