Skip to content

15th Ready Steady Light celebrates basic engineering and design

FUTURE Designs celebrated their 2nd success in 3 years at the annual Ready Steady Light event organised by the Society of Light and Lighting (SLL) with Rose Bruford College.

Winner of the Peer Prize 2017 by the FUTURE Designs team

Now in its 15th year, the competition took place at Rose Bruford College, Sidcup, on Tuesday 21st March, where 13 teams competed against each other by designing and setting up temporary exterior installations with a range of equipment, in only 180 minutes.

This year, the team from FUTURE Designs was awarded the much sought after Peer Prize with WSP Parsons Brinckerhoff picking up the Technical Prize, and Light Bureau the Artistic Prize. The judging panel for the Technical Prize was chaired by SLL President, Jeff Shaw and SLL President Elect Richard Caple chaired the  Artistic Award on behalf of IALD.

Each team was allocated a site around the College’s campus at random. Focusing on a return to basic engineering and design, the teams then lit each site in its natural state with designated equipment, having to overcome challenges without a budget and within the time constraints. Students enrolled in Rose Bruford College’s Lighting and Design BA course supported the event and had the opportunity to speak to and assist lighting professionals working in this unique environment.

Winner of the SLL Technical Prize 2017 by team WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff

Jeff Shaw, President of the SLL, said: “This competition is a celebration of the lighting profession in its purest form, with a problem to be solved and just the designer’s own skill and creativity to work with, and this year’s entries were very impressive. We were particularly struck with the sensitivity to the environment displayed, with great control of light and colour.

“Ready Steady Light a great way to show young lighters what fabulous design can be achieved with very little by a skilled lighter, and hopefully it will inspire them in their careers as they develop.”

Each team was led by an SLL member with newcomers welcomed to take part. Members of the public are also welcomed to see the installations from 6pm until 8pm. Three prizes were then awarded for the Best Technical Solution, judged by SLL, the Artistic Award, judged by IALD and the Peer Prize, judged by the teams themselves.

Winner of the Artistic Prize by Team Light Bureau

Ready Steady Light is held in partnership with Rose Bruford College and supported by the IALD. Further support and equipment is provided by Philips, Lee Filters, Whitelight and Erco. The teams came from a variety of organisations and institutions including; Llumarlite, Lighting Projects, Marcus Stefan Lighting Design, Future Designs, WSP-Parsons Brinkerhoff, DPA, UCL (A and B teams), Into Lighting, Arup, Light Bureau, Studio 29, Philips and Hoare Lea.

The SLL, along with Philips also had the pleasure of sponsoring the Junior Ready Steady Light competition, which took place on Saturday 18th March 2017, at Rose Bruford College. The teams from state secondary schools participated in a full day of activities that lead up to the final competition and prize-giving ceremony.