Skip to content

CIBSE is currently upgrading its IT systems to improve core customer functions and increase efficiency and effectiveness. This will mean some website services will be offline until Monday 25 July. Help

CIBSE ASHRAE Graduate of the Year 2020 Winner

A huge congratulations to Jennifer Cox of AECOM and Heriot Watt University.

About the 2020 winner

Jennifer is a graduate electrical engineer working within the Buildings & Places team in AECOM St Albans. She graduated from Heriot-Watt University with a MEng in Architectural Engineering in 2018. Shortly after, in September she joined AECOM as a graduate engineer in their Edinburgh office, working on both mechanical and electrical design. In August 2019 she transferred to the St Albans office after a successful 6-month secondment and has continued working as an electrical engineer.

Jennifer is a graduate member of CIBSE and has recently applied for her ACIBSE membership. She is the general secretary of the London CIBSE YEN Committee. She is also a recognised STEM ambassador and has volunteered for various STEM events speaking to young  people and students of all ages explaining engineering as a potential career and promoting building services and the construction industry.

First runner-up

Joey Aoun, Foster+Partners and Universities of Lebanon and Newcastle

Joey joined Foster+Partners in 2018 as an Environmental Design Assistant and has worked on large scale infrastructure projects. Joey has an interdisciplinary academic background, holding a master’s degree in Architecture (2014), a postgraduate diploma in Green Building Technology (2016) and an MSc in Urban Energy (Newcastle University, 2018). His academic work was awarded at IBPSA-USA’s Project StaSIO 2019, won the prize for the Highest Marked Postgraduate Dissertation at Newcastle University, awarded TEMPUS travel grant (2016), and represented Lebanon in the Arab World Architectural Exhibition (2014).

Joey is a registered Architect in Lebanon, an Incorporated Engineer through CIBSE, and a RIBA Affiliate member currently pursuing chartership. He is a LEEDBD+CAP and a WELLAP. Joey’s published research work is focused on local area energy planning for domestic heat decarbonization. Joey is a STEM ambassador, a contributor to the LETI 2020 Retrofit Workstream and the winner of this year’s Ken Dale travel bursary.

Second runner-up

Joshua Vasudevan, MERCE and Loughborough University

Having completed his BEng in civil engineering, Joshua’s passion and love towards sustainability and wellbeing encouraged him to start low energy building services master’s degree at Loughborough University. He graduated in 2019 with distinction and won AECOM prize of the high performing building services student. His master’s research was based on machine learning using thermal imaging camera to predict thermal comfort in building. He won ASHRAE paper competition at ASHRAE Orlando conference. He participated as a team member in ASHRAE ISBD competition 2019 and won first place. He started his role as a Research intern at Mitsubishi Electric R&D Centre and worked closely on the ubiquitous monitoring and controlling of IEQ in buildings. Through his tireless work, he has earned a fully-funded PhD from Mitsubishi, which will explore the deep learning and IEQ in buildings.

Joshua currently mentors the Loughborough University students for various competitions and actively participate and promote CIBSE and YEN. Beyond the workplace, he volunteers back in India with children organisation teaching them maths and computers and being involved in green projects by raising funds and distributing food for the underprivileged children.